Why do home projects get so tricky

 

Well is been a while, but I thought I would just ask the question having stalled again on a home programming project, I wanted a simple program that would do some simple accounting, and after a MONTH I have got no further than a basic background domain that doesn’t really cut it.

Now at work where I program all day this sort of thing would have taken maybe a day to complete including the user interface  here at home I get sidetracked by the technology this time its WPF and how to data bind and design stuff, it looks great but its sucking my time away.

does anyone else suffer from this, other programmers I talk to say its the lack of a real customer, and that they get stuck with the same sorts of things, either games or an new "way" gets them.

So am I doomed to never actually write stuff that’s only for me?

About Duncan Butler

Trying to be a very agile software developer, working in C# with Specflow, Nunit and Machine Specifications, and in the evening having fun with Ruby and Rails
This entry was posted in Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

