Next Action

 

Ever downloaded a program and then forgot where you got it from, so this is a memory aid for me as well as it has just happened to me.

At work I use a small utility called ‘Next Action’ its always running somewhere on my screen, (it moves out of the way of the mouse automatically) I use it as a do next todo list, or a quick note to myself when I am working, nothing long term.

I know that outlook can do it, along with many other programs, but they all seam like overkill, I wanted something that, when someone came up and said ‘could you just’, I could add their request, without fuss or a load of keypresses or mouse moves, with next action I simply select the application in the task bar and start typing, when I am finished click back to where I was first and continue.

Next Action has lived up to the task in spades

 

Its simple, simply type in the stuff you want to remember and leave the window, saving is done automatically, the only other key I have used is control down arrow to move selected text to the bottom of the list, usually when I have completed it, so the next item appears.

oh and there is no install, simply copy the program to where you want to run it and you are off. I have added a short cut to the program in my startup folder, so its there running when ever my computer is on.

download it here

Next Action

I have added this to the list of things that I must install on any dev machine I work on, just remember to keep the list short, and only use this for the short term things, longer items that need big descriptions and have long time scales I still use outlook for, this is for those jobs that get in the way, for jotting where I got to when I close Visual Studio

About Duncan Butler

Trying to be a very agile software developer, working in C# with Specflow, Nunit and Machine Specifications, and in the evening having fun with Ruby and Rails
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

