Real Test Driven Development

 

Time to put my thoughts on the line, I have read many posts and blogs about test driven development (TDD), both for and against.  I have tried to write my code at work in a test driven manor. So I thought I would put my thoughts down on paper, and develop a small program here in public view to show how I go about things.

Fell free to comment, not only on the process but on the resulting code, and tests, my aim is to learn, maybe convert a few to looking at this methodology in a new light, and to try to do things in a real world way.

Is this going to be a text book example, no, I am a single man, I have done pair programming in the past, for quick projects or to problem solve in a larger application, but not as a full time process.  I have no client to talk to about specs etc, and delivery will be when its done. so this won’t be a pure extreme programing example.

So what will this be, I want to show how I have used TDD, how I develop and idea, how I have taken the bits of extreme programming and test driven development, and adapted them to suite a single developer, both inside and outside of a company.  I am lucky where I work we are given great leeway in how we develop our code, its all web and windows development, using dot net, most use c# as the preferred programming language, but that is not mandatory.

I like to code along with the things I read, one of the best examples of this, and one of my favorite books is Extreme Programming Adventures in C# (DV-Microsoft Professional) by Ron Jeffries.

OK enough of this preamble, lets get down to business.

About Duncan Butler

Trying to be a very agile software developer, working in C# with Specflow, Nunit and Machine Specifications, and in the evening having fun with Ruby and Rails
This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

